“No means no, no matter what.”

No means no. No means no if she’s drunk or sober. No means no if she’s in the dorm room or on the street. No means no even if she said yes first and changed her mind. No means no—no matter what. I’m asking all of you, all of you to help get this message out.

I had goodbye drinks with my first New York City boss on Tuesday evening. As I was talking about what I want to do with my life–particularly with regards to working against sexual assault–my boss mentioned that she does not know one woman who hasn’t been sexually violated (molested, raped, anything). Not one! I’m included in that list as well. Her statement made me really sad. And the fact that these things still happen in our country and that these acts are so frequent, and so frequently not reported or even discussed, makes it even harder to believe.

I really like this video that has been released from VP Joe Biden to college students around the country, and I wanted to share it with you. We have to do everything we can to stop sexual abuse of women (and men, too!). What can you do? ALWAYS report it! Report it report it report it! Whether it’s happened to you or someone you know or you just know of it, these incidents have to be reported. In these situations, silence doesn’t help anyone except the criminal.

When it comes to sexual abuse, there is no such thing as an innocent bystander.

 

Leave a Reply

