Paula Deen Goes Vegan

Cooking and the internet, they go together, as Forrest Gump would say, like peas and carrots. Whenever I have a craving for something specific, I head to Google, which usually takes me to either allrecipes.com or foodnetwork.com. In the wake of Anthony Bourdain calling Ms. Paula Deen the “worst, most dangerous person to America”–because her cooking is a fat-filled heart-attack-on-a-plate–I decided to veganize one of her recipes.

What’s something I haven’t had in a long time? I thought. Biscuits. Homemade biscuits. They’re pretty much flour, baking powder, salt, butter, and milk. Easy. So alright, Paula Dean. Let’s see what you’ve got….

I picked a simple recipe from her for my first foray into biscuit-making:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 8 tbsp. Earth Balance margarine, added in small chunks
  • 3/4 cup “milk” (for this I blended 4 tbsp. Tofutti Better than Cream Cheese with soy milk, equalling 3/4 cup, to make sure the biscuits would be plenty hearty without milkfat)
  1. Blend dry ingredients
  2. Add margarine chunks and knead with your hands until it’s mostly mixed together and looks kinda crumbly
  3. Make a well in the center of the mixture and pour the milk into it. Knead it all together with your hands. If it’s too dry, add some more milk until it’s sufficiently pliable.
  4. Roll it out over a flour-covered surface to your desired thickness. Use a biscuit or round cookie cutter.
  5. Paula’s recipe has the biscuits baked in a pan full of butter. I tried this with about six of my biscuits, cooking them in vegetable oil. The result: They were crispy, but kind of over-cooked in some spots. Could be my pan, could be the heat thing. I did enjoy the crispiness.
  6. I also gave it a shot at cooking them in the oven at 375F for 15-20 mins. The result: Softer than the ones in the pan.

Left: Baked in the oven; Right: Baked in the pan

Final verdict: Tasty biscuits. Next time I’ll make two adjustments, though. 1) Use 6-7 tbsp. margarine with 2-3 tbsp. Crisco shortening to make them just a bit softer. 2) Roll and cut them much thicker. Even though these are soft and flaky, biscuits should be nice and thick.

See Paula Deen’s biscuit recipe here.

2 thoughts on “Paula Deen Goes Vegan

  1. I like the title of this post — it makes me giggle because good old Paula Dean is probably the farthest from Vegan as is humanly possible. The woman likes her mayonnaise! I’m not a vegan so I probably will stick with butter biscuits, but these look good!

    -Alexandra

  2. Kudos on a successful adaptation of a non-vegan recipe! It sounds delicious, I’ll have to try it. Great suggestion of adding Better Than Cream Cheese to soy milk to get a “milkfat” quality.

    I just started my own blog where, in addition to originally vegan recipes, I veganize ones that have meat or dairy, so feel free to check it out! (And I’m also in NYC.)

    -Evelina (The Vegan Cook)

Leave a Reply

