Oh, hello New York!

Today was pretty amazing — and productive. And busy! And, quite frankly, pretty girly.

After a doctor’s appointment at noon, I had half an hour to kill before my hair appointment. On a whim, and with cuticles badly in need of some TLC, I popped into a new-looking nail salon. By the end of the manicure, I was expecting to pay at least $22, which is pretty standard. But it was $13. I don’t think I’ve ever found a manicure that cheap in Manhattan (Iris Nail on 21st and Third Ave for any of you who are interested).

After the hair appointment was the farmer’s market, then on to Target for garden and bike supplies. The internet told me there was a Home Depot near my apartment — but the internet was wrong. Nevertheless, I rode around my neighborhood and got some great exercise and some much needed relaxing time outside. I did manage to find a hardware store on Fulton and Nostrand who actually had the planters that I wanted (this after looking at countless other places). But I did a stupid thing on my way home: I rode my bike on the sidewalk.

L to R: chives, lemongrass, catnip, peas, jalapenos, mariachi peppers. I can't wait for them to be ready!

To those of you who don’t live in New York City, this might sound like a silly crime, but it is really annoying as a pedestrian when someone rides their bike on the sidewalk. I was only going a third of a block, but I should have known better. Shortly after an old lady yelled, “Biking on the sidewalk is a crime, young lady!” at me, I turned the corner and was pulled over by cops on foot. I have never been pulled over in a car (unless you count the time in early May when I was pulled over in Leah’s car because a tail light was out, but I fixed it within an hour and the summons was dismissed). So getting pulled over on my bike, I couldn’t help but giggle to myself. I whined at the police officer, “You’re going to give me a ticket, aren’t you?” Fortunately, after I told them I’d just moved to Brooklyn and this was the first day this summer I’d brought my bike out, they let me off with a warning. I guess I just looked innocent enough. Go figure that the one time I bust a law I get caught for it.

While planting some seeds (jalapenos, mariachi peppers, peas, forget-me-nots, and catnip) and repotting some other plants, I slide my finger with a knife when trying to put holes in the bottom of my plastic planters for irrigation. God, it hurts! Can’t let a manicure look totally nice, can I? I even wore gloves when I was dealing with the dirt so I wouldn’t mess up my nails.

All in all, it was an awesome day. Productive solo days are awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

